Happiness is a Warm Puppy (640x512)
Team Lisa and Jet Jan.2007~April 2011

 

     Every dog has its day, and I wish more of ’em had their special day…I comfort myself by thinking of the magic that is Canine Assistants, in Milton, Georgia. Not really knowing what to expect when I received my first helper dog

It was so much more than just receiving a dog. I got my mobility back, no longer had to worry about seizures and no-one being there for me….basically, after six terrible years I got my life back! All because of a sweet yellow dog named Jet, who saw my potential and drew upon it till I became confident in my new life…one without nursing, without driving….without so many things.

The worst thing I was now after all that I was without…him.

    Jet had to leave me when he was less than five years old. After being a team for less than four years. He had cancer, and he died in my arms. My gravitar is a picture of he and I that magical day when my dog ‘picked’ me, instead of the other way around.

     Eight months later…again at the magical farm in Georgia, a ‘cousin’ to Jet, ambled over to me and decided to ‘choose’ me! His name is Frax. He’s one of the bigger dogs they’ve ever bred. No one knows why he’s so big. Big feet, looooong legs, loooong tail, loooong body, and a big serious face that still reminds me so of the late actor Fred Gwinn. Eight inches taller than Jet, a deep golden color with cream-colored ‘wings’ that all yellow labs have~ except he isn’t, he’s a Golden-Lab. Oh, and he ‘talks’ to us, and anyone he thinks is interesting!

     Meeting Frax and deciding to go on after Jet was one of the hardest decisions I’ve ever had to make. In my heart I know it was the right one. Jet would never give up, and he would never have let me. So I honor him and his successor tonight, National Dog Day.

Freedom Has Four Legs and a Tail
First walk on the beach in years…Jet’s first little victory, and you know they add up…

Team Lisa and Frax.  Asleep together in what Frax thinks is “his” bed. He thinks that he’s mighty nice letting us humans up on the queen-sized bed to sleep with him in a pack!DSCN4394 - Copy (2)

 

DSCN4292Frax and I August 2015

Team Lisa n’ Frax                                                    Frax and I this past spring

 

Frax’s day in the sunshine, as he suns and rolls in our backyard!Frax sunbathing May 2016

2 thoughts on “Every Dog Has It’s Day! Today Is National Dog Day!

  1. What a beautiful story. thank you for sharing…I had the privilege of reading Through a Dog’s Eyes..all about how the organization got started. What a wonderful group!,

    1. Thank you so much for liking the story. I’m a bit new to WordPress, so bear with me. My Helper Wears A Fur Suit can be found on Wix as well. http://lisavaught.wix.com/service-dog-blog. Through a Dog’s Eye’s was an endearing book. Jennifer is just now promoting another book, about BBT ™ Bond Based Teaching. Very cool stuff. I Know Amazon’s got the new book, or you can find it at canineassistants.org. Jennifer and her husband Kent and the Canine Assistant’s family have made both my husband’s and my life a joy, and opened life back up again, when it seemed there was no way it could. And I’m just one person…there’s are literally thousands of people that have had their lives changed for the better because of Canine Assistants! Thank you again for liking my Tweet!:) Kindest Regards, Team Lisa and Frax

Leave a Reply

